# COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARLY HONORS AND AWARDS ANNUAL REPORT 2007 - 2008

The Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards (SH&A) met four times during the 2007-2008 academic year (October 31, February 6, March 18 and June 16) and conducted the remainder of its business electronically. The following items are highlights of the actions taken and issues considered.

## Research, Teaching and Service Awards:

The Committee reviewed 47 nomination files for the research, teaching and service awards and selected the following Academic Senate members to be honored during the 2008-09 academic year. The Senate Cabinet and Divisional Senate Assembly confirmed the awards.

### **Distinguished Faculty Award for Research**

Kristen R. Monroe Professor of Political Science

# Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Research

John S. Lowengrub Professor of Mathematics

#### Distinguished Assistant Professor Award for Research

Katharine N. Suding Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

## **Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching**

Roger F. Steinert, M.D. Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology and Biomedical Engineering

## **Distinguished Assistant Professor Award for Teaching**

Loretta Livingston Assistant Professor of Dance

#### Daniel G. Aldrich Jr. Distinguished University Service Award

William H. Parker Professor of Physics and Astronomy

## **Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Service**

Linda R. Cohen Professor of Economics

#### **UCI Medal:**

In response to the Chancellor's request for more faculty nominations for the UCI Medal, the Committee continued to have a separate nomination procedure for the 2007-08 academic year. A call for the UCI Medal nominations was distributed during Winter Quarter '08. The academic Deans were contacted with a request for assistance in identifying outstanding candidates from each academic unit. The separate procedure was successful and ten nominations were submitted. Three

Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards Annual Report 2008-09 Page 2

nominations files were forwarded to the Chancellor for his consideration, and Professor Emeritus Stanley van den Noort was chosen as the faculty recipient of the 2008 UCI Medal.

#### **Living Our Values Awards:**

In cooperation with the Office of University Communications, the Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards reviewed the faculty nominations for this new UCI award and forwarded names to the Chancellor for his final selection. During Fall Quarter '07, we forwarded three names and the Chancellor selected Professor Cecelia Lynch to be the faculty member honored with the Living Our Values Award. During Spring Quarter '08, the Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards reviewed another seventeen faculty nominations and will be forwarding three names to the Chancellor for his consideration. The name of the faculty member to be honored will be announced during Fall Quarter '08.

## **New and/or Continuing Business:**

Professor Carl Cotman was elected to chair the Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards for 2008-09.

The recipients of the Academic Senate's 2007-08 Distinguished Faculty Awards will be honored on the following two dates:

#### Tuesday, October 14, 2008

7:00 p.m. at the UCI University Club

Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching

Roger F. Steinert, M.D., Professor of Ophthalmology and Biomedical Engineering

Distinguished Assistant Professor Award for Research

Katharine N. Suding, Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Service Linda R. Cohen, Professor of Economics

# Thursday, December 4, 2008 7:00 p.m. at the UCI University Club

Distinguished Faculty Award for Research Kristen R. Monroe, Professor of Political Science

Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Research John S. Lowengrub, Professor of Mathematics

Distinguished Assistant Professor Award for Teaching Loretta Livingston, Professor of Dance

Daniel G. Aldrich Jr. Distinguished University Service Award William H. Parker, Professor of Physics and Astronomy

Submitted by: Virginia Trimble, Chair

Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards

Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards Annual Report 2008-09 Page 3

# **Members:**

Virginia Trimble, Physics and Astronomy, Chair Carl Cotman, Neurobiology and Behavior Julia Lupton, English Bonnie Nardi, Informatics Carol Whalen, Psychology and Social Behavior Sharon Salinger, Dean, Undergraduate Education, *Ex officio* Susan Bryant, Vice Chancellor of Research, *Ex officio*